Pinsteps. בנייני האומה / שדרות שז''ר

The Israeli State Congress Hall, better known as Binyani Haum, was built in 1956. During more than 60 years of its operation, the building was rebuilt and reconstructed several times. The total area of the modern complex of the Israeli State Congress Hall is 34.000 m². Initially, the building was conceived as a center for holding world Jewish congresses and conventions. The initiator of its construction was the Jewish Agency Sohnut. The building, called the Palace of the Nation, was designed by renowned Israeli architect Zeev Rechter, who won first place in the international competition for the best project in 1949. For 10 years, from 1950 to 1960, the building was under construction. Due to financial difficulties, it was never built and received the nickname Ruins of the Nation. However, this did not prevent the World Zionist Congress in 1951 from being held in an unfinished building. In 1958, the building hosted an exhibition of achievements of the national economy, dedicated to the tenth anniversary of the creation of the state of Israel. Since then, the building has become a permanent center for conventions, congresses, fairs and speeches. People from different countries meet here, American presidents perform here, the Eurovision contest is held in this building, and the most important governmental and national events take place in this building. The architecture of the building expressed an attempt to show the historic event of the creation of the State of Israel as a world center for the Jewish people who had been in exile and wandering for 2,000 years. The building is built as a monumental structure on a high cliff and is lined with stone on all sides except for the facade. The facade of the building was supposed to decorate the historical bas-relief of the work of sculptors Yosif Zaritsky and Itzhak Danziger. However, this did not happen in 1995. the facade of the building was covered with blue glass which reflected the skies. So in the architecture of one of the most iconic buildings of the modern capital of the state of Israel reflected the eternal historical beauty of the white Jerusalem stone and blue sky. Translated with Google Translate


Pictures uploaded by @Evgeny Praisman
Discover hotels near this place here!
Evgeny Praisman (author)
Здравствуйте! Добро пожаловать в мои экскурсии! Я как-то понял, что погулять с каждым я не успею, гулять в группах мало кому сейчас хочется, а гулять «вслепую» быстро становится скучно. Так и появилась идея записывать маршруты и создавать полноценные путеводители, которые я здесь собираю. Если вы попали сюда, значит вам нужен ключик, чтобы открыть маршрут – пожалуйста! Напишите мне сообщение на телефон +972 537907561 или на epraisman@gmail.com и я с радостью вам помогу! Иначе, зачем я всё это делаю?
Map & Panorama
Routes
List of routes including this place
Evgeny Praisman
Masa Jerusalem

Walk through the old city of Jerusalem. From Yafsky gates to the garbage gates. The Jerusalem Museum from the time of the Second Khrami and a burnt house. Wall of Tears. Translated with Google Translate

Don't waste time for planning
Use detailed routes created by your friends and professionals.
Don't be afraid to get lost in new places!
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience
OK
Share
Send
Send