Pinsteps. The Legislative Assembly of Sverdlovsk Oblast House
Places to visit in Yekaterinburg. Languages: en

The democratic system of the Sverdlovsk region is based on a unicameral legislative body, as outlined in Article 32 of the Charter of Sverdlovsk Oblast. The Legislative Assembly comprises 50 members, with 25 elected through party lists (proportional representation) and 25 elected by single-mandate constituencies (majoritarian representation). The term length for deputies is five years.

The historical background of the Legislative Assembly started with the Soviet-era Regional Council of People's Deputies, which was replaced by the Sverdlovsk Oblast Duma in 1994. In 1996, the Duma became the lower house of a newly established bicameral Legislative Assembly, with the House of Representatives as its upper house. The House of Representatives held elections in 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004, and 2008 for all 21 seats, while in the Sverdlovsk Oblast Duma, half of the total number of seats (14) were contested every two years. In 2011, bicameralism was abandoned in Sverdlovsk Oblast, and a new unicameral Legislative Assembly was elected.

As for the naming of the region and its capital city, the Sverdlovsk Oblast is named after Yakov Sverdlov, a prominent Bolshevik leader, and the city of Ekaterinburg was named in honour of Empress Catherine II (Catherine the Great). During the Soviet period, the town was renamed Sverdlovsk, in line with the region's name. However, after the dissolution of the Soviet Union, the city's original name, Ekaterinburg, was restored in 1991, while the area retained the title Sverdlovsk Oblast.

Pictures uploaded by @Денис Лаптев
List of routes including this place
Денис Лаптев
Ekaterinburg's brief Journey

As a business traveller in Ekaterinburg, you walk from the Yeltsin Center back to the Tenet Hotel, passing through the city centre and discovering the rich history of the Ural capital. The Ural region, situated between Europe and Asia, derives its name from the Ural Mountains, which have long been considered the natural boundary between the two continents. The term "Ural" likely originates from the word "ur," meaning "a mountain" in the ancient Turkic and Finno-Ugric languages.

Russians began to explore and settle in the Ural region in the late 16th and early 17th centuries. Ekaterinburg was founded by Vasily Tatishchev and Georg Wilhelm de Gennin in 1723 and was named in honour of Empress Catherine II (Catherine the Great). Its original name was Ekaterinburg, which was briefly changed to Sverdlovsk during the Soviet era before reverting to its original name in 1991.

Before the Bolshevik Revolution, Ekaterinburg was a vital industrial and cultural centre, with a thriving mining and metalworking industry due to the abundant natural resources of the Ural Mountains. The city also served as a hub for the arts, with a rich theatre, music, and literature tradition.

In modern times, Ekaterinburg has continued to grow in importance as a significant industrial, cultural, and economic centre. It is the administrative centre of the Sverdlovsk Oblast. It plays a vital role in Russia's economy, primarily due to its industrial sector and strategic location at the crossroads of Europe and Asia. The city is also known for its vibrant cultural scene, hosting numerous festivals, exhibitions, and conferences, making it a key player in Russia's contemporary landscape.

Discover routes near this place here!
Денис Лаптев (author)
Я, Денис Лаптев, люблю Екатеринбург - это мой город, и я с радостью рассказываю о нём.
Don't waste time for planning
Use detailed routes created by your friends and professionals.
Don't be afraid to get lost in new places!
This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience